2008 Hillclimb Rules?

Hillclimbs for NEHA (SCCV, SCCNH, KSCC)
tashko

2008 Hillclimb Rules?

Post by tashko »

I just sent off a rules suggestion to 2008NEHA at hillclimb dot org and thought I'd post it here for discussion as I'm new to this, having just one event under my belt.

It goes something like this:

Addition of the following classes:
Unprepared - No Cage
Unprepared - Roll bar & harness
Street Prepared - No Cage
Street Prepared - Roll bar & harness

All current rules in Part 2 apply to the new classes with the
exception: tires must have a minimum treadwear rating of 140 (i.e. no
DOT-R compound tires).

The current break-out times would be split into two different breakout
times, one for 'no cage' and one for 'roll bar & harness' equipped
cars.

The addition of these classes will provide a reason for running
hillclimb events for those with no cage and potentially increase the
attendance level at events. Currently cars limited to the break-out
time are in the same class with caged cars that have no break-out
time. There is no competitive reason for attending events.

For cars that must adhere to the break-out time, it makes no sense to
use DOT-R compound tires. Mandating a minimum treadware rating will
ensure that drivers will have the audible feedback street tires
provide when they are pushed near their limits for safety reasons.

The use of two break-out times will allow the events to provide
competition for a wider audience while still maintaining a level of
safety. The break out times should be slightly slower or equivalent to
the current break-out times for 'no cage' cars and slightly faster for
cars equipped with safety equipment in the 'roll bar & harness'
classes.

Additionally, I believe a minimum experience level should be adopted
in the form of Autoslalom, Timeattack, Track school, Rally,Hillclimb,
etc. to ensure a certain level of car control experience is posessed
by entrants. By nature, hill climbs offer very little room for error